Half bad *Sally Green*// Review

Hello Booklovers!
Recently, I finished the first book in the “Half Life” Series and been super pumped to write this review for you since then!

img_20161111_182022

Author : Sally Green
Publisher : Viking Books for young readers
ISBN : 0670016780
Genre : Fantasy, YA

Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. But how can Nathan find his father when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves?
ⒸGoodreads

MY THOUGHTS
I was so keen to read the first book in the trilogy since Mai (when I got it on my London Trip) but haven’t read it since, so it was high time to read it!
However people who are more likey to read plot based books may have to get used to this -very character based- book (but believe me it’s very easy to read this book even if you’re more the plot reader like I am 😉 )

Characters:
In the first book, the author mostly concentrates on the characters, their background stories and most important the characters development, which is totally fine! I mostly read books that are plot based it was a welcomed change to read something where it’s not all about the plot only.
The character development is so interesting in this book, I promise you won’t be bored as long as you let yourself into the story.
Nathan is the protagonist in Half bad, he basically is half white half black witch, which is not accepted in the society he lives in.
On his journey to the answers of his belonging and existence, he has to face the worst things, one could probably imagine, but he also finds out a lot of interesting things about himself, which I think are the background information, the readers need for further books.

Plot:
As I already mentioned, the plot is not the focus in this book but it’s also not that unimportant.
I have to admit, the plot is not as thrilling as in other books (when it comes to the action itself) but for people who love/like to read books that are based on character development and such, it’s the perfect book to read!
I alo think that the first book functioned more like a “background giver” and let me tell you this: I am pretty sure the next 2 books will be liiiiiit!!
What I can tell from the plot is that it’s going in a direction, which I am super keen to discover and read and share the thrill with the characters because their experiences and feelings are so contagious!
Also, the whole war vibe was almost graspable, which shows the conflic in this society.
The combination of character development and background information and plot makes a brilliant start to the trilogy!

Writing:
Sally Greens writing style is very unique and I really had to read a few pages until I got into the story and used to the writing style but now I looove love it!
Also, the author uses second person at some point in the book, which is so unique and it really draws you into the story because she used word like “you” and stuff. It makes you feel like you are the person in the book (but sadly there are just a few chapters where this narrative perspective is used).

RATING
Desktop3

NOTE: I give this book 3.5 out of 5 treasure chests, I just was too lazy to create half point as well 😉 😀

Leave a Reply

